ARTS & CULTURE SECTION
Tuesdays with Morrie at Sierra Madre Playhouse on June 25

For the next selection in its Off The Page series of free monthly staged readings, Sierra Madre Playhouse will present Tuesdays With Morrie on June 25, 7:00 p.m.,  based on the best-selling book by Mitch Albom. Tuesdays With Morrie is the autobiographical story of Mitch Albom, an accomplished journalist driven solely by his career, and Morrie Schwartz, his former college professor. Sixteen years after graduation,…

Caltech String Theorist Wins Hamburg Prize

Hirosi Ooguri Credit: Bill Youngblood for Caltech Hirosi Ooguri, the Fred Kavli Professor of Theoretical Physics and Mathematics and the founding director of the Walter Burke Institute for Theoretical Physics, is being awarded the 2018…

Los Angeles Gallery Gives Spotlight to Works of Pasadena Artist Walter Askin

The works of Pasadena-born artist Walter Askin are among those included in Per Proscenia, an exhibition of work spanning the late 1970s to early 90s by Los Angeles-based artists, at Los Angeles gallery JOAN through…

Study Backs Up Caltech Hypothesis That There Is a Ninth Planet

Artist’s impression of Planet Nine as an ice giant eclipsing the central Milky Way, with a star-like Sun in the distance. Neptune’s orbit is shown as a small ellipse around the Sun. The sky view…

Henry Moore Prints Exhibition Opens June 16 at the Huntington Library

Henry Moore, Mexican Mask, 1974, lithograph, 26 x 19 in. The Huntington Library, Art Collections, and Botanical Gardens. Gift of Philip and Muriel Berman Foundation. © The Henry Moore Foundation. All Rights Reserved, DACS 2017…

Sunday, May 27

Jewish Federation Players Community Theatre Ensemble Announces Next Production: “She Loves Me” by Joe Masteroff

The JFed Players’ Spring 2018 production of She Loves Me, opens on May 12th, 8:00pm, at Porticos Art Space in Pasadena. She Loves Me takes…

Sunday, May 27

Friends of South Pasadena Library’s Restoration Concert Series Presents the New Hollywood String Quartet

The Friends of South Pasadena Library’s Restoration Concert Series presents the New Hollywood String Quartet at the South Pasadena Public Library’s Community Room on Sunday,…

Friday, June 01

Philthy Is The Name of the Game

Do you like the phat sound of horns mixed with your music making for full flavored music that makes the heart beat, the feet move,…

Sunday, June 03

Large-scale Paintings by Five Los Angeles-based Female Artists Redefine Sublime in Pasadena Museum of California Art’s “The Feminine Sublime”

Yvette Gellis, Oil, Earth Fire and Water, 2017. Oil, acrylic, graphite, and canvas on canvas; triptych; 83 x 51 1/2 inches. Courtesy of the artist…

Click for more

Flintridge Bookstore & Coffeehouse Presents Epic Fantasy Authors Christopher Husberg and D.J. Butler for a Reading, Discussion, and Signing of their Recent Books

On Friday, June 22 at 7:00 p.m., Flintridge Bookstore & Coffeehouse welcomes epic fantasy authors Christopher Husberg and D.J. Butler for a reading, discussion, and signing of their recent books. Husberg’s just released Blood Requiem is the third installment in his Chaos Queen Quintet, and has been described by the Library Journal as “perfect for fans of Daniel Abraham and Brandon Sanderson.” D.J. Butler’s Witchy Winter is the sequel to his Witchy Eye. Publishers Weekly says, “Fans of epic and alternate historical fantasy will savor this tale of witchery and intrigue.” The Nine Daemons are on the rise in Christopher…

More Stories