Assemblyman Holden Recognizes Tournament of Roses President as Woman of the Year

Published : Wednesday, March 6, 2019 | 5:36 AM

Photo credit, Pasadena Tournament of Roses.

Laura Farber, the first Latina and third women to serve as Tournament of Roses president, has added another pearl to her tiara of accolades with Assemblyman Chris Holden’s (D) recognition of her as a Women of the Year.

It is Holden’s prerogative to bestow the title upon a female in his 41 assembly district during this, Women’s History Month. .

Farber is a partner at Hahn and Hahn LLP, which is one of the largest general practice firms in the San Gabriel Valley and oldest legal firms in the state, with offices at 301 East Colorado Boulevard. 

Farber was elected Tournament of Roses president in January. She is the fifth member of Hahn and Hahn to hold the post.

Farber and nine other women who have been named Women of Distinction in the 41st Assembly District will be honored during Holden’s annual Spring Open House on Thursday, March 28.

“I am thrilled to announce Laura Farber as Woman of the Year for the 41st Assembly District,” Assemblymember Holden said in a statement. “As the first Latina and third woman to serve as President of the Tournament of Roses, Ms. Farber will offer an important perspective and approach to the historic organization.”

A South Pasadena resident, Farber has been a volunteer member of the Tournament of Roses Association since 1993 and was elected to the Executive Committee in 2012.

Throughout her extensive Tournament of Roses career, she has served on and chaired various committees.

It is not the only entity she dedicates her energies to; the American Bar Association being just one example of another.

Farber also serves as a member of the Board of Directors of the YWCA, a school site council member for Marengo Elementary School in South Pasadena, and an officer in the South Pasadena Middle School Booster Club.

Annually, Holden also recognizes a Woman of Distinction from each city in his District.

This year’s Women of Distinction include Monica Hubbard (Altadena), Shelly Vander Veen (Claremont), Sabina Sullivan (La Verne), Christine Geltz (Monrovia), Dianne Cullinane M.D., (Pasadena), Diane Williams (Rancho Cucamonga), Laurie Brandler (San Dimas), Nancy Shollenberger (Sierra Madre), Laura Farber (South Pasadena) and Beatrice Casagran (Upland).

The women were selected from over 70 nominations sent in response to an announcement from Holden’s office in January.

The event honoring the Woman of the Year and Women of Distinction will be held at the 41st Assembly District Office at 600 N. Rosemead Blvd. in Pasadena. The event starts at 5:30 p.m.

To RSVP for the Spring Open House, email

blog comments powered by Disqus