Big Ten Posts Postseason Pigskin Preview

Published : Tuesday, June 4, 2019 | 5:54 PM

The Big Ten Conference uncapped details to its near-future postseason lineup — the most diverse in its history.

In a June 4 announcement, the Conference revealed 11 different bowl game partners spread across the country – including the Rose Bowl in Pasadena – beginning in 2020.

The Big Ten’s future bowl lineup includes the Rose Bowl Game on New Year’s Day, January 1, 2020, presented by Northwestern Mutual.

Stretching from coast to coast, the lineup will feature annual matchups with quality opponents from the likes of the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC), Big 12, the aforementioned PAC-12, Southeastern Conference, and Mid-American Conference, in Arizona, California, Florida, Michigan, Nevada, New York, North Carolina and Tennessee.

Teams and fans will visit world-class cities and experience 11 different NFL stadiums, including iconic venues such as the Rose Bowl and Yankee Stadium.

Partnerships in Charlotte and Las Vegas were recently forged with an eye to creating opportunities for new postseason experiences for participants and fans.

Aside from the Rose Bowl, postseason games will be played at Capital One Orange Bowl, Citrus Bowl, and Outback Bowl, all in Florida; the Las Vegas Bowl, Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl in Nashville, New Era Pinstripe Bowl in the Bronx, Belk Bowl in Charlotte, North Carolina, Cheez-It Bowl in Phoenix, the Redbox Bowl in Santa Clara, and Quick Lane Bowl in Detroit.

The Big Ten conference office announced six-year extensions with the Citrus, Music City, Outback, Quick Lane and Redbox bowls and six-year agreements with the Belk, Cheez-It and Las Vegas bowls. Its current agreement with the Pinstripe Bowl has also been extended through 2025.

The Big Ten previously announced a 12-year extension to face a Pac-12 team in the Rose Bowl Game, through the 2025 campaign, and an agreement with the Orange Bowl to send a Big Ten team to face an ACC representative at least three times.

The Citrus, Outback, Music City, New Era Pinstripe, Cheez-It, Redbox and Quick Lane bowls will feature a Big Ten team in each year of the agreement, while the Las Vegas and Belk bowls will rotate annually.

For more information, visit