Chicago, Iggy Pop, Isaac Hayes, Others to Get Lifetime Grammys at Pasadena Presentation

Published : Friday, December 20, 2019 | 6:05 AM

Chicago, Iggy Pop, Isaac Hayes

The Recording Academy will honor the rock band Chicago, Roberta Flack, Isaac Hayes, Iggy Pop, John Prine, Public Enemy and Sister Rosetta Tharpe with the Lifetime Achievement Award on April 18, 2020 during a special awards presentation ceremony at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium.

The Academy will also honor Ken Ehrlich, Philip Glass and Frank Walker with the Trustees Award, and George Augspurger will be give the Technical Grammy Award.

These awards are part of the Recording Academy’s 2020 Special Merit Awards.

“Our Special Merit Awards recipients have molded their musical passion into pieces of history that will continue to influence and inspire generations of music creators and music lovers to come,” said Deborah Dugan, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Recording Academy.

The Lifetime Achievement Award celebrates performers who have made outstanding artistic contributions to the field of recording. The Trustees Award honors such contributions in areas other than performance.

The Recording Academy’s National Board of Trustees determines the honorees of both awards.

Technical Grammy Award recipients are voted on by the Academy’s Producers and Engineers Wing Advisory Council and Chapter Committees, and are ratified by the Academy’s Trustees. The award is presented to individuals and companies who have made contributions of outstanding technical significance to the recording industry.

For more information about the Academy, visit

blog comments powered by Disqus