Pasadena-Based County Agency Formation Commission Extends Search for Alternate Public Member

Published : Wednesday, April 17, 2019 | 4:46 AM

The Local Agency Formation Commission for the County of Los Angeles (LAFCO), which is based in Pasadena, has extended the deadline to file an application to serve in the capacity of Alternate Public Member of the Commission.

The original deadline was Monday, May 6, 2019; the new deadline is Monday, June 10, 2019, according to a LAFCO announcement. The announcement said the Commission directed staff at a meeting on April 10 to extend the filing deadline for one more month.

LAFCO Los Angeles oversees changes to local government boundaries involving the formation and expansion of cities and special districts.

With county-wide jurisdiction, the Commission is mandated to discourage urban sprawl and to encourage orderly and efficient provision of services, such as water, sewer, and fire protection.

The Commission consists of nine regular members and six alternate members, including representatives from the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors, the City of Los Angeles, the San Fernando Valley, the other 87 cities and independent special districts in Los Angeles County.

The Public Member is a regular member of the Commission and represents the general public. The Alternate Public Member serves and votes in place of the Public Member when the Public Member is absent.

A Notice of Vacancy published by LAFCO said the term of office of the new Alternate Public Member who will be selected and appointed will be up to May 4, 2020.

The Alternate Public Member will be selected by the other eight voting members of the Commission, according to the LA LAFCO website.

Interested applicants can download an application form on LAFCO’s website,, and submit the filled form on or before the deadline on June 10, at 5 p.m.

Applications can be submitted in person, to LAFCO offices at 80 South Lake Avenue, Suite 870, in Pasadena, or by email to Alisha O’Brien, The office is open Monday to Thursday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., and is closed on Fridays and holidays.

For more information, visit

blog comments powered by Disqus