Pasadena-Foothills Association of Realtors Installs 2018 President Emilie Broughton in "We Open Doors" Celebration

Published : Wednesday, January 3, 2018 | 9:36 AM


Image Courtesy Emilie Broughton Real Estate

On Friday, December 15th over 300 REALTORS®, Affiliates and special guests welcomed Emilie Broughton as the new president of Pasadena-Foothills Association of REALTORS® (PFAR) at its 111th Annual Inaugural and Awards Luncheon at The Langham Huntington Hotel and Spa in Pasadena. Matt McIntyre served as master of ceremonies for the “We Open Doors” themed program that included installation of the 2018 Board of Directors, as well as awards presentation for some of the top REALTORS® and Affiliates servicing the Pasadena and surrounding areas.

The luncheon celebration featured C.A.R.’s 2019 President-Elect Candidate Jeanne Radsick as the installer of 2018 President Emilie Broughton of Town Square Real Estate. Ms. Broughton will be succeeding outgoing President Shahe Seuylemezian.

Locating and purchasing her first home influenced and eventually launched Broughton’s career in real estate. After serving on several committees within the Pasadena-Foothills Association of REALTORS® she joined the Board of Directors in 2016. A four time 5-star Professional Awards winner, Broughton is a California Association of REALTORS® (C.A.R.) Region 13 Director (at the state level) and is an active participant in the local arts community.

During Broughton’s inspiring “We Open Doors” address, she stressed the importance of community involvement, stating “The first step to success is showing up.”

Joining Broughton on the 2018 Board of Directors are President-Elect Lisa Christine Diaz, Secretary Crystal Narramore, Treasurer David Booth and MLS Chair Steve Haussler. Directors include Chelby Crawford, Clara Abedian, Jeff Maynard and Eddie Ramirez. The board will also include Immediate-Past President Shahe Seuylemezian and newly appointed Affiliate Director Erik Okland.

Awards Presented for Outstanding Service

The 2017 REALTOR® of the Year Award went to Roland Wilhelm of Pacific Union International in Pasadena.

Michelle McConville of Fairway Independent Mortgage Corporation took home the 2017 Affiliate of the Year Award. As PFAR’s 2017 Affiliate Director, McConville led incoming and veteran affiliates in the association’s charitable work and in the development of real estate partnerships.

Seven REALTORS® were also honored as C.A.R. Honorary Member-for-Life, an award given for at least 25 continuous years of membership at C.A.R. The honorees were: Robert Minkey (Podley Properties), Samantha Lau (SR Lau Properties, LLC), Robert Lee (Arc and Associates), Lynne Jennings (Sotheby’s International Realty), Linda Zinn (Sotheby’s International Realty), Alfonso Rodriguez (Emerald Realty Group) and James Busalacchi (Keller Williams Realty).

Additional C.A.R. Award Recipients included Sid Karsh as C.A.R. Key Contact and Federal Political Coordinator Emeritus and 2017 C.A.R. Rising Stars Nicholas Frias (Podley Properties) and Hazel Perera (Berkshire Hathaway Home Services California Properties).

Ljiljana Grozdanic and Terrance Murphy were recognized as the National Association of REALTORS® (NAR) REALTOR® Emeritus Award for commitment of forty years or more in the National Association as a REALTOR® and/or REALTOR-ASSOCIATE®, as well service at the local, state, or National Association level.

PFAR also honored Rita Sahlein of Sotheby’s International Realty with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Sahlein’s career as a REALTOR® spans over thirty years. In that time, she has served as a President of PFAR, ten years as a Director, and she was previously honored as REALTOR® of the Year and Woman of the Year for her philanthropic work.

Lastly, the 2017 President’s Award went to PFAR’s Chief Executive Officer, Carla C. Dane. Under Dane’s leadership, PFAR introduced an innovative Multiple Listing Service system to the organization, while expanding the association’s educational program and footprint in the community.

Special Guests

Special guests included Congresswoman Judy Chu, Senator Anthony Portantino, Assembly Member Chris Holden, and District Representative Teresa Lamb Simpson for Congressman Adam Schiff. Jody Davis and Cadet Colin Pederson from The Pasadena Tabernacle of the Salvation Army were also in attendance for toy donations to the annual “Angel Tree Program.”

Guest Presenters

Guest presenters at the Inaugural were Kal Antoun, Joyce Kristensson, Deborah Maxson, Joseph Haggerty, Todd Hays, Michelle McConville and Ruth McNevin. The luncheon also featured an inspiration video, presented by Jeremy Hardy that celebrated the “We Open Doors” theme.


About the Pasadena-Foothills Association of REALTORS®

Founded in 1907, the Pasadena-Foothills Association of REALTORS® has built a reputation as being one of the strongest real estate associations in the nation. Serving the communities of Pasadena, Altadena, San Marino, South Pasadena, La Cañada Flintridge, La Crescenta and Sunland-Tujunga, the Association’s goals are to promote success for its members and preserve real property rights, while enforcing the Code of Ethics of the National Association of REALTORS®. Over the years, the Pasadena-Foothills Association of REALTORS® has expanded its mission to serve as a constructive force in the improvement of the quality of life within the community.
Visit PFAR on the web at  Follow PFAR on Facebook and Twitter: @PFAR_Alerts
blog comments powered by Disqus