REALTORS Charitable Foundation Donates Thousands in Student Scholarships

Published : Wednesday, May 22, 2019 | 11:20 AM

On the evening of Friday, May 10, the Pasadena-Foothills Association of REALTORS® Charitable Foundation (PFARCF) honored deserving high school students in their annual Scholarship Presentation. This year, ten well-deserving local high school seniors were celebrated with college scholarships in front of proud family and friends.

Led by Scholarship Committee Chair Ruth McNevin, the committee faced a competitive pool of young leaders, intellectuals and public servants, all with compelling stories to share.

“Our goal is to help further the education of our most talented and needy students. Our Scholarship Committee was challenged to select ten students from over 60 applications; each one is truly worthy of the award,” said Scholarship Chair Ruth McNevin. “We had a compassionate and hard working group committed to the selection process.”

2019 Scholarship recipients include Clark Magnet’s, Abdullah Hasan whose pursuit of a medical career resulted from a close friend’s neurological illness; AP Scholar and future Berkeley attendee, Oona Foley (South Pasadena High School), destined for social work and activism; National Honors Society member Naiara Munich (La Cañada High School), whose rigorous course studies influenced her path to take on smart energy/sustainability through a degree in chemical engineering; and Stacey Lau of San Marino High School, inspired by her late mother’s military and public service, who learned from a young age that “it isn’t about magnifying myself; it’s about building others up.”

Casey Staten (Marshall Fundamental), Rachel Estrada (Pasadena High School), Esther Chu (Crescenta Valley), Cooper Salomon (John Muir), along with José Dominguez and Octavio Peña, both of Blair High School, were also selected for scholarships.

“Investing in our community is a key component of the Foundation’s Mission, and we are extremely fortunate and proud to be able to support our future advocates,” said Foundation Chair, Chelby Crawford.

The Scholarship board is composed of Foundation Directors Kal Antoun, Sid Karsh, Deno Kidde, Terry Shelton, Lin Vlacich, and Scholarship Chair Ruth McNevin.

Selection for the scholarship was based on financial need, academic achievement, school location and community service and involvement.

PFARCF has distributed over one million dollars to local charities and the pursuit of higher education. To stay up-to-date on the foundation’s latest events and to donate to the Charitable Foundation’s scholarship and fundraisers, visit







blog comments powered by Disqus