Rose Bowl Game Teams Announced: Oregon Ducks Will Face Wisconsin Badgers

Published : Monday, December 9, 2019 | 6:39 AM

The Oregon Ducks, champions of the Pac-12 Conference, and the Wisconsin Badgers will face each other in the 106th Rose Bowl Game presented by Northwestern Mutual at 2 p.m. on January 1, 2020, at the Rose Bowl Stadium in Pasadena, the Rose Bowl Game Football Committee announced Sunday.

The Ducks are currently No. 6 in the final College Football Playoff rankings, and the Badgers are currently No. 8.

This year’s Rose Bowl Game will be the sixth meeting between the Wisconsin Badgers and the Oregon Ducks and the second time in The Granddaddy of Them All. The Badgers and Ducks met in the 2012 Rose Bowl Game with Oregon winning, 45-38.

“The Tournament of Roses is ecstatic to have a top-10 matchup in this year’s Rose Bowl Game,” Laura Farber, Tournament of Roses President, said. “Oregon and Wisconsin have been among the best teams in the country all season and we look forward to hosting them in Pasadena at The Granddaddy of Them All.”

Oregon secured a spot in the Rose Bowl by winning its 12th Pac-12 Championship against Utah, 37-15, on Friday and finished the season 11-2 overall and 8-1 in conference. The Ducks will be making their eighth appearance in the Rose Bowl Game. Their last New Year’s Day win in Pasadena was in 2015 against Florida State in the College Football Playoff semifinal.

Wisconsin finished the regular season 10-3 with a 7-2 mark in Big Ten to win the Big Ten West. The Badgers will make their 10th appearance in the Rose Bowl Game and are 3-6 in Pasadena on New Year’s Day. Wisconsin most recently appeared in three straight Rose Bowl Games from 2011 to 2013.

Pre-game festivities at the Rose Bowl will begin at 1 p.m. on January 1. The game will be televised nationally on ESPN and broadcast on ESPN radio.

Additional tickets for the Rose Bowl Game will go on sale online on Tuesday, December 10, at 9 a.m. To get tickets, visit

Official ticket and VIP game day hospitality packages are available through PrimeSport, the official Fan-to-Fan Ticket Exchange, Hospitality and Corporate Travel Package provider for the Rose Bowl Game, the committee said.

Package offerings through PrimeSport can include official Rose Bowl Game tickets, Rose Parade tickets, pre-game hospitality at the Official Rose Bowl Hospitality Village, premium local accommodations, and tours of float decorating spaces and more.

Fans only searching for Rose Bowl Game tickets can shop on the official ticket exchange. For more details on package options and to secure your access, visit

The Rose Bowl Game has traditionally hosted the conference champions from the Big Ten and Pac-12 conferences (or their predecessors). Since 2002, the Rose Bowl Game has occasionally deviated from its traditional matchups for use in “national championship” systems.

In 2002 and 2006 (the 2001 and 2005 seasons), under the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) system, the Rose Bowl was designated as its championship game, and hosted the top two teams determined by the BCS system.

Beginning in 2015, the Rose Bowl has been part of the College Football Playoff and hosts one of its semifinal games every three years. During non-Playoff years, the Rose Bowl reverts to its traditional Pac-12/Big Ten matchup.

Known as The Granddaddy of Them All, the Rose Bowl Game presented by Northwestern Mutual kicked off a myriad of college football legacies in 1902. Since then, the game has showcased 20 Heisman Trophy Winners, produced 29 national champions, featured 216 consensus All-Americans and honored 104 college football legends by inducting them into the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame.