Winners of Rotarian Teachers Laurels Revealed

Published : Monday, May 20, 2019 | 5:07 AM

Top Row L-R: Amber Plummer, Cynthia Macias, Veronica Alcantar. Bottom Row L-R: Elizabeth Najera-Bustillos, Patricia Fontenot-Hughes

The Pasadena Rotary Club has made known the winners of it 2019 Teachers of Excellence Award, though the official announcement is a few days off.

The Club annually awards five teachers from Pasadena Unified School District who have excelled in their profession.

This year’s Teachers of Excellence are Veronica Alcantar, from Jackson STEM Dual Language Magnet; Patricia Fontenot-Hughes, from Washington STEAM Multilingual Academy; Cynthia Macias, from McKinley School of the Arts; Elizabeth Najera-Bustillos from Blair International Baccalaureate; and Amber Plummer, from Eliot Arts Magnet.

Each will receive $1,500, while their schools are given $500. Funding comes primarily from the Pasadena Rotary Foundation, the club’s budget, and contributions from individual members.

PUSD’s Teacher of the Year is selected from the five Teachers of Excellence.

The Rotary Club sponsors the Teachers of Excellence program jointly with PUSD in order to foster and encourage excellence in teaching and dedication to education.The program ensures that both middle school and high school teachers are among the five recipients.

Wednesday’s meeting is open to the public, and no RSVP is required. Buffet lunch is $33 which includes complimentary valet parking. Meetings are held at the University Club Pasadena, at 175 North Oakland Avenue. For inquiries or more information, email

blog comments powered by Disqus