Five PUSD 'Teachers of Excellence' Named by Rotary Club of Pasadena

Published : Thursday, May 11, 2017 | 12:56 AM

L-R: Tyara Brooks, Diana Habib-Nairouz, Tina Minkler, Linda Ortega, Jason Taylor.

The Pasadena Unified School District (PUSD) today announced the five recipients of the 2017 Teachers of Excellence Award, presented annually by the Rotary Club of Pasadena to educators who excel in their profession. The 2017 honorees are Tyara Brooks of Longfellow Elementary; Diana Habib-Nairouz of Hamilton Elementary; Tina Minkler of Jackson Elementary; Linda Ortega of Washington STEAM Magnet Academy; and Jason Taylor of Wilson Middle School. The teachers will be honored at an awards ceremony on May 17, 2017.

“The impact that these five outstanding teachers have on their students is immeasurable, and I am pleased to partner with the Rotary Club of Pasadena to recognize them,” said Superintendent Brian McDonald. “Our teachers are working every day to ensure that students continue to learn and achieve at higher levels, and become lifelong learners.”

The Teachers of Excellence is a collaborative program of the Rotary Club of Pasadena and PUSD. The Rotary Club invites all schools to nominate teachers for this honor and a selection committee composed of principals, UTP, parents, previous winners, and Rotarians reviews the entries. The five teachers are awarded $1,500, and $500 is presented to each recipient’s school. PUSD’s Teacher of the Year is selected from the five Teachers of Excellence.

The Teachers of Excellence awards program fosters excellence in teaching in the Pasadena Unified School District. It demonstrates the Pasadena Rotary’s commitment to public schools and to exceptional teachers who deserve special recognition.

The Rotary Club of Pasadena will honor the 2017 Teachers of Excellence at a luncheon on May 17, 2017, held at The University Club of Pasadena, 175 North Oakland Avenue, Pasadena.

2017 Teachers of Excellence:

• Tyara Brooks, Longfellow Elementary
• Diana Habib-Nairouz., Hamilton Elementary
• Tina Minkler, Jackson Elementary, a STEM/Dual Language Magnet School
• Linda Ortega, Washington STEAM Magnet Academy
• Jason Taylor, Wilson Middle School

Visit for more information.







blog comments powered by Disqus