Flintridge Prep Students Honored in Spring Assembly; Class Of 2018 Seizes Privileges

Published : Monday, June 5, 2017 | 2:40 PM

On the last day of classes, Flintridge Prep freshmen, sophomores and juniors joined faculty in receiving special recognition. Following the awards ceremony, the new student government was sworn in.

The new Senior Class President, Olivia Harber ’18, granted the Class of 2018 full senior privileges, including access to the coveted Senior Lawn and Senior Patio. While the class managed to enjoy the Senior Patio, the Class of 2017’s environmentally friendly senior prank made access to the Senior Lawn a messy proposition. Following is a list of award recipients.

Awards Presented to Faculty

Detoy Award: Presented to Joe Maggio for his outstanding personal and professional contributions to the school. Mr. Maggio, who has served Prep since 1985 and retires at the end of this academic year, was recognized for his contributions as a dedicated softball coach, JPD advisor, Prom and grad night chaperone, dean and passionate biology teacher. He has been beloved for his sincerity, humor, utter lack of pretention and obvious love for his students and colleagues.

Class of 1987 Award: Presented to Michael Lyman, affectionately known as ICE, for his dedicated service. Mr. Lyman was nominated by his peers and received the honor based on a vote by the whole student body. The glue of Prep, Mr. Lyman oversees with pride, courage and expertise the physical safety and emotional health of the entire community.

Scott Studenmund ’08 Memorial Award Presented to Jill Henry and Michael Roffina, who have led the girls’ cross-country team through one of the most remarkable eras in Prep’s athletic history. So far, the team has won three straight State Championships. The pair has created a culture of human development, a sisterhood that values sportsmanship and love among teammates as core values. Mr. Roffina retired from coaching at the end of the fall 2016 season.

Awards Presented to Students

JP Blecksmith ’99 Memorial Award: Presented to Evan Pattinelli ’18 for his leadership, scholarship, athletic commitment and public service.

History: Peter Mugemancuro ’19 received the Sophomore Faculty History Award, while Jonathan Le ’18 received the Dartmouth Award, which represents academic achievement in history, as well as personal example, leadership and service.

Math: Emma Wang ’19 received the Sophomore Faculty Math Award, while Conrad Oakes ’18 received the Junior Faculty Math Award. Catherine Zheng ’19 received the Yee Siu King Tom Award for excellence in mathematics based on cumulative scores on math league exams.

English: Catalina Ruiz ’18 received recognition as a NCTE Writing Award finalist. Chloe Chanren ’19 received the Sophomore Faculty English Award. Roland Martin ’18 received the Brown Book Award, which honors a member of the junior class who combines academic excellence with clarity in written and spoken expression.

World Languages: Cole Slater ’18 won the Faculty French Award. Alexia Ouzounian ’18 won the Faculty Spanish Award. Suha Chang ’18 won the Faculty Latin Award.

Fine Arts: Caroline Wreszin ’19 won the Sophomore Faculty Visual Arts Award. Harry Burke ’18 won the Junior Faculty Visual Arts Award.

Performing Arts: Kyla Kikkawa ’19 won the Sophomore Faculty Performing Arts Award. Katie Lee ’18 won the Junior Faculty Performing Arts Award.

Science: Maya Khurana ’20, Saya Sarma ’20 and Sunay Poole ’18 won the STEAM & Service Fair in the High School Science and Engineering category. In addition, 15 students participated at the LA County Science and Engineering Fair: Sunay Poole ’18, Noah Igler ’20, Cammi Bielawa ’20, Maya Khurana ’20, Natalie Bax ’20, Derek Tran ’20, Julia Boberg ’20, Maggie Newhart ’20, Noe Tamura ’20, Lucca Guzman-Gieseken ’20 and Germaine Harvey ‘20. Reagan Schmidt ’20 and Charlie McCormick ’20 received honorable mentions at the LA County Science and Engineering Fair, and Grady Morrissey ’20 and Matt Son ’20 placed second in their division at the fair, moving on to the State Science Fair.

Sinclaire Ledahl ’19 won the Sophomore Faculty Science Award. Sunay Poole ’18 won the Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award.

Fathers Club Pursuit of Excellence Awards were awarded to Germaine Harvey ’20, Torres Shi ’19 and Sophia Corbisiero ’18.

Amherst Book Prize: Brent Ellis ’19 won the Amherst Book Prize for genuine intellectual curiosity and a passion for learning.

Harvard Prize Book Award: Wylie Kasai ’18 won the Harvard Prize Book Award for combining scholastic ability, high character and extracurricular involvement.

Click here to view more photos of the event.

Flintridge Preparatory School, 4543 Crown Ave., La Cañada Flintridge, (818) 790-1178 or visit www.flintridgeprep.org.











blog comments powered by Disqus