La Canada Flintridge Educational Foundation Rose Harrington Educators of the Year Named

LCFEF Endowment Fund Trustees, Chad Heath and Valerie Aenlle-Rocha flank Award Recipients Karen Gilmour and Justin Valassidis (Center). Photo courtesy La Canada Unified School District

La Canada High School English teacher, Justin Valassidis and La Canada Elementary second grade teacher, Karen Gilmour  were named the 2015-16 Rose Harrington Educators of the Year on Thursday, May 26th.  The Rose Harrington Educator of the Year Award, which comes with a cash prize, was established in 2002 by a bequest made in the estate of local resident Rose Harrington, who herself was an educator.   The bequest is managed by the LCFEF Endowment Fund and this year’s selection was coordinated by a committee appointed by LCFEF Trustees, drawn from a pool of nominations that were made by the public at large.

According to Mrs. Harrington’s bequest, the intent of the award is to recognize educators whose contributions in the classroom often exceed expectations, consuming personal time and energy.

Previous winners include:

2014-15: Dr. Jeff Brookey and Myrna McCune
2013-14: Laurie Hopkins and Sally Spangler
2012-13: Pam Daniger and Leslie Baldwin
2011-12: Patty Compeau
2010-11: Jan Rappleye
2009-10: Pat Harris
2008-09: Tom Traeger
2007-08: Mary Linda Vendevelde and Kathy Cockerill
2006-07: Marina Chahine
2005-06: Jackie Castro
2004-05: Mary Jane Hufstedler
2003-04: Mary Ruth Dicks

Click here to visit the La Canada Flintridge Educational Foundation website for more information.



blog comments powered by Disqus

Pasadena Now has been published daily since April, 2004 and is among the very oldest continously operated community news websites in the U.S.

Pasadena Now strives to publish a full spectrum of news and information articles in service to the entire community. The publication will remain free to readers and will not erect paywalls.

Pasadena Now strives to provide factual, unbiased reporting. Our opinion section is open to all.