Sierra Madre Civic Club Grants Educational Awards to High School Seniors

Published : Wednesday, May 15, 2019 | 12:47 PM

President Marcia Bent, Committee Chair Sharon Lefler and Education Awards Recipients

Sierra Madre Civic Club is proud to grant Education Awards to high school seniors who plan to attend a college or trade school. All are residents of Sierra Madre, active in their schools, and participate in a wide variety of community activities.

The 2019 Education Award winners are: Sophie Johnson (Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy), Lydia Plaut (Westridge School), Petra Shair (Pasadena High School), Amy Stapenhorst (Westridge School), and Owen Vendevelde (Pasadena High School).

The Education Awards Committee members include: Sharon Lefler, Marcia Bent, Judie Cimino, Jill Girod, Jeanne Martin, Virginia Mullaney, Elizabeth Shula, Joan Spears.

Since 1944 Civic Club has been actively serving and enriching the Sierra Madre community through volunteering and philanthropic projects. All funds raised are distributed annually to local community organizations and to the recipients of the Educational Awards.

To learn more about Sierra Madre Civic Club, visit







blog comments powered by Disqus