St. Francis High School Graduates the Class of 2016

La Cañada Flintridge, California

Published : Saturday, May 28, 2016 | 6:58 PM

Fr. Tony Marti, the President of St. Francis High School, addresses the graduates during the Graduation Prayer Service in the school's chapel.

(Left to right) - Salutatorian Joshua Lee '16, Valedictorian Gabriel Alpuerto '16, and Salutatorian William Huston '16.

One hundred and sixty-two young men from the Class of 2016 graduated on Saturday, May 28th, on the campus of St. Francis High School in La Cañada Flintridge, California.

Fr. Harold Snider, OFM Cap., the Provincial of the Western American Province of the Capuchin Franciscan Order, represented his Excellency Bishop José Gómez, Archbishop of Los Angeles, at the graduation. Fr. Tony Marti, OFM Cap., the school President, Mr. Thomas Moran, the school Principal, and Mr. Mark Heydorff, the Chairman of the Board of Directors, also officiated at the Sixty-Seventh Annual Commencement Exercises for the local Catholic, college-preparatory institution.

Aaron Joseph Baker led the National Anthem, Evan Kristopher Swayne, the Senior Class President, welcomed the crowd, and Valedictorian Gabriel Luis Carlos Alpuerto gave a formal address to the audience. Alpuerto also received the Capuchin Award and Medal for Scholarship. The program also recognized Co-Salutatorians, William Anthony Huston and Joshua Anthony Lee, for their exceptional achievement.

Certificates of Excellence were awarded to graduates in the following categories: Computer Science – James William Sobieski; Fine Arts – Aaron Joseph Baker, Michael James Brian, Andrew James Parker; Foreign Language – Jonathan David Azterbaum, Dylan Alexander Hankins, Abel Anthony Edens; Mathematics – Clayton Wilcox Green, William Anthony Huston; Media – Blake Williams Bowen; Social Studies – Giancarlo Moussa Orlando, Tyler Joseph Valdez.

The school faculty also presented Capuchin Medals for excellence in subject areas to the following individuals: Art – Jake William Almeida; Athletics – Areg Nazarian; Biology – Clayton Wilcox Green; Chemistry – Aaron Joseph Baker; Chorus – Casey Broemsen-Daniel McCreary; Computer Science – Ryan Anthony Schroeder; Drumline – Gabriel Luis Carlos Alpuerto; Economics – Joshua Anthony Lee; English – Abel Anthony Edens; European History – Gabriel Luis Carlos Alpuerto; Human Geography – Alexander Levon Harutunian; Kinesiology – Colin Joseph Keenan; Latin – Ryan Anthony Schroeder; Mass Media – Zade Nour Dardari; Mathematics – Thomas Anastasios Christopoulos; Physics – Jung Min Hong; Religion – Ryan Joseph Hambley; Spanish – Alexander Joseph Pidoux; Theater – Isaak Harlow Momsen; United States Government – Joshua Anthony Lee; United States History – Gabriel Luis Carlos Alpuerto.

At the Baccalaureate Mass on Friday, May 27th, Community Service Awards were presented to Gabriel Luis Carlos Alpuerto (Pro Deo et Patria for Leadership); Michael Paul Calmette (Pro Deo et Ecclesia for Leadership); William Anthony Huston (Fred Purner Humanitarian Award); Cristian Jacob Miranda (Roger Barkley Award for Outstanding Character); Matthew John Fernandez, Jack Robert Thompson (Archdiocesan Christian Service Award); Abel Anthony Edens, Alexander Levon Harutunian (Peter Brang Medal for Good Citizenship); and William Anthony Huston (Franciscan Spirit and Life Award). In addition, Mrs. Christina Tinglof, Mrs. Dianne Ciulla, and Mrs. Christina Altmayer were honored for their service to St. Francis with the St. Clare of Assisi Award. Mr. Frank Gangi was also recognized for his service to the school as the recipient of the St. Francis of Assisi Award.

The Fr. Lawrence Caruso Memorial College Scholarship was awarded to Colin Joseph Keenan.

Thirty-five graduates received the special St. Francis High School Honors Diploma, an award given for Christian service, high academic achievement, and taking at least one Advanced Placement course during their senior year at the school. Eleven of the graduating seniors became Life Members in the California Scholarship Federation. The California Scholarship Federation Sealbearer Scholarship was presented to Alexander Levon Harutunian.

The National Merit Program Commended Students are Abel Anthony Edens, Clayton Wilcox Green, William Anthony Huston, Eric Yong-Sean Lin, Ryan Anthony Schroeder, James William Sobieski, and Matthew Eric Tauer.

Forty-five students graduated as members of the National Honor Society and ten graduated as Mu Alpha Theta Members. The National Honor Society Certificate of Merit was awarded to Gabriel Luis Carlos Alpuerto and James William Sobieski. The National Honor Society of Sports Medicine graduated five members. The National Hispanic Recognition Program recognized Gabriel Luis Carlos Alpuerto, Jonathan David Azterbaum, Abel Anthony Edens, Mark Garcia, Eric William Peacock, Matthew Eric Tauer, and Tyler Joseph Valdez as Scholars.

At the time of graduation, students from St. Francis High School’s graduating Class of 2016 have received 211 scholarships and awards to colleges and universities throughout the United States. These scholarships and awards equate to $10,084,000 towards the recipients’ educational costs.

St. Francis would like to congratulate all 162 graduates and wish them well as they journey onward to do great things. Below are the names of the St. Francis graduates from the Class of 2016:

blog comments powered by Disqus