Latest Guides


Caltech Professor Slated to Receive Prestigious Award

Award Ceremonies Scheduled for June 29 at Honolulu Conference

Published on Tuesday, May 31, 2011 | 10:02 am

Caltech’s Dr. Hans Hornung, Clarence L. Johnson Professor of Aeronautics, will receive the 2011 American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Fluid Dynamics Award (AIAA)  at a noon awards luncheon June 29 in Honolulu, the AIAA said in a press release.

The award is presented for meritorious achievement in the field of applied aerodynamics, recognizing notable contributions in the development, application, and evaluation of aerodynamic concepts and methods.

Dr. Hornung will be recognized for numerous important theoretical and experimental contributions related to the transition between normal and Mach reflections and nonequilibrium boundary layer transition.

Other award winners are Dr. Chul Park, professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering, Preston A. Henne, senior vice president, Programs Engineering & Test, Gulfstream Aerospace Corp. and Dr. Ramesh Agarwal, William Palm Professor, Washington University.

Additionally, two AIAA Sustained Services Awards will be presented during the luncheon to: John C. Lin, research aerospace engineer, NASA Langley Research Center, Hampton, Va., and Aaron Altman, associate professor, University of Dayton, Dayton, Ohio, each of whom will receive a certificate of citation and a lapel pin recognizing their sustained and significant service and contributions to AIAA.

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) will present technical achievement awards at a noon awards luncheon June 29 in Honolulu, as part of the 41st AIAA Fluid Dynamics Conference and Exhibit, 20th AIAA Computational Fluid Dynamics Conference, 29th AIAA Applied Aerodynamics Conference, 3rd AIAA Atmospheric and Space Environments Conference, 42nd AIAA Plasmadynamics and Laser Conference (in conjunction with the 18th International Conference on Magnetohydrodynamic (MHD) Energy Conversion), 42nd AIAA Thermophysics Conference, and 6th AIAA Theoretical Fluid Mechanics Conference, taking place June 27 at the Sheraton Waikiki and the Hawaii Convention Center, Honolulu, Hawaii.

For more information, visit

Get our daily Pasadena newspaper in your email box. Free.

Get all the latest Pasadena news, more than 10 fresh stories daily, 7 days a week at 7 a.m.

Make a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *