Celebrating the Class of 2020

George Zevada ’20 – Valedictorian (l) and Kai Glassen ’20 – Salutatorian (r)


One hundred and sixty-three young men from the Class of 2020 graduated on Saturday, May 23rd, in a virtual ceremony hosted by St. Francis High School in La Cañada Flintridge, California.

Fr. Tony Marti, OFM Cap., the President of St. Francis High School, represented his Excellency Bishop José Gómez, Archbishop of Los Angeles, for the graduation. Mr. Thomas Moran, the school Principal, and Mr. Mark Heydorff ‘70, the Chairman of the Board of Directors, also officiated during the Seventy-First Annual Commencement Exercises for the local Catholic, college preparatory institution.

Ian McGarry led the National Anthem, Luka Bradvica, the Senior Class President, welcomed those tuning in remotely, and Valedictorian George Zevada gave a formal address to the audience. George Zevada also received the Capuchin Award and Medal for Scholarship. The program also recognized Salutatorian Kai Glassen for his exceptional achievement. Additionally, Cole Marston was presented with the Rudy Trujillo Award for Academic Effort. Mr. Benjamin F. Breslauer, the West Point Admissions Field Force Officer, also presented Lake Kim and Dylan Sheriff with their appointments to the United States Military Academy.

St. Francis Certificates of Distinction were awarded to graduates in the following categories: Athletics – Kevin Armstead; Athletics – Michael Kane; Computer Science – Ethan Gray; English – Ethan Gould; Foreign Language – Timothy Khoh; Foreign Language – James Mills III; Mathematics – Benjamin Ahn; Science – Christopher Bruce; Science – Kai Glassen; Science – Desmond Sieburth; Social Studies – Adam Barakat; Social Studies – Alexander Cupp; Visual & Performing Arts – Andrew Kowalski.

The school faculty also presented Capuchin Medals for Excellence in various subject areas to the following individuals: Art – Matthew Aceves; Athletics – Andre Henry; Biology – Benjamin Ahn; Chemistry – James Symons Galassi; Chorus – Benjamin Cronin; Computer Science – James Mills III; Drumline – Grant Wells; Economics – Sean Metz; English – Kai Glassen; Graphic Design – Matthew Sandino; Human Geography – Giuseppe Perona; Kinesiology – Nicholas Myers; Latin – Daniel Bozanic; Mass Media – Andrew Kowalski; Mathematics – Benjamin Cronin; Physics – Luka Bradvica; Psychology – Ethan Clavio; Religion – William Ferguson; Spanish – Arman Manookian; Theater – Ian McGarry; US Government – Daniel Bozanic; US History – George Zevada; World History – Nicholas Gersh.

During the virtual Baccalaureate Mass on Friday, May 22nd, community service awards were presented to the following individuals: Kai Glassen (Pro Deo et Patria for Leadership); Timothy Khoh (Pro Deo et Ecclesia for Leadership); Daniel Bozanic (Fred Purner Humanitarian Award); Andrew Kowalski (Roger Barkley Award for Outstanding Character); Jonathan Ahn and Samir Gill (Archdiocesan Christian Service Award); Sayeed Shahidi (Peter Brang Medal for Good Citizenship); David Baker (Franciscan Spirit and Life Award). In addition, Mrs. Dianne Ciulla, Mrs. Sarah Garber, Mrs. Amy Giardello, Mrs. Kathleen Snashall, and Mrs. Maggie Metz were honored for their service to St. Francis with the St. Clare of Assisi Award. Mr. Larry Gray, III ’84, Mr. Chris McGarry, and Mr. David Munoz ‘85 were also recognized for their service to the school as this year’s recipients of the St. Francis of Assisi Award.

The Fr. Lawrence Caruso Memorial College Scholarship was awarded to Devan Bell. Fifty-two graduates received the special St. Francis High School Honors Diploma, an award given for Christian service, high academic achievement, and taking at least one Advanced Placement course during their senior year at the school. Twenty-six of the graduating seniors were recognized as California Scholarship Federation Sealbearers. The California Scholarship Federation Sealbearer Scholarship was presented to Andrew Kowalski, Anthony Munoz, and Thomas Shenoi.

Benjamin Ahn, Nicholas Gersh, Giuseppe Perona, Carsten Petersen, Desmond Sieburth, and James Symons Galassi were recognized as National Merit Program Commended Students. Sixty-two students graduated as members of the National Honor Society and seven graduated as Mu Alpha Theta members. The National Honor Society Certificate of Merit was awarded to Benjamin Ahn, Andrew Chang, Ethan Clavio, Austin Heberger, and Giuseppe Perona. The National Honor Society of Sports Medicine graduated nine members; Stephen Castro, Gilbert de Cardenas, Matthew McMillin, Nicholas Myers, Nicholas Sabando, Aidan Snashall, Jordan Tashiro, Maximus Weideman-Escobedo, and Aiden Zarrinnam.

At the time of graduation, students from St. Francis High School’s graduating Class of 2020 have received 373 scholarships, awards, and/or grants to colleges and universities throughout the United States. These scholarships and awards equate to a total amount of $20,367,661 offered towards the recipients’ educational costs.

St. Francis would like to congratulate all 163 graduates and wish them success and happiness as they journey onward toward lives of purpose marked by service to others. Below are the names of the St. Francis graduates from the Class of 2020:

Click here to view Mr. Thomas Moran, St. Francis High School Principal’s speech.

St. Francis High School, 200 Foothill Blvd., La Cañada, (818) 790-0325 or visit www.sfhs.net.


Pasadena Now has been published daily since April, 2004 and is among the very oldest continously operated community news websites in the U.S.

Pasadena Now strives to publish a full spectrum of news and information articles in service to the entire community. The publication will remain free to readers and will not erect paywalls.

Pasadena Now strives to provide factual, unbiased reporting. Our opinion section is open to all.