Celebrating the Class of 2021

St. Francis High School Class of 2021 Valedictorian Justin Chung (r) and Salutatorian Joseph Ferry Jr. (l).


One hundred and seventy-eight young men from the Class of 2021 graduated on Friday evening, May 28th, in a joint Baccalaureate Mass and Graduation Ceremony hosted by St. Francis High School under the lights in Jim Bonds Stadium on Friedman Field in La Cañada Flintridge, California.

Fr. Joseph Seraphin Dederick, OFM Cap., the Provincial of the Western American Province of the Capuchin Franciscan Order, represented his Excellency Bishop José Gómez, Archbishop of Los Angeles, at the ceremony. Fr. Tony Marti, OFM Cap., the School President, Mr. Thomas Moran, the School Principal, and Mr. Mark Heydorff, the Chairman of the Board of Directors, also officiated during the Seventy-Second Annual Commencement Exercises for the local Catholic, college preparatory institution.

Joseph Adams and Janssen Van De Yacht led the National Anthem, Michael McGrath, the Senior Class President, welcomed those in attendance, and Valedictorian Justin Chung gave a formal address to the audience. Justin Chung also received the Capuchin Award and Medal for Scholarship. The program also recognized Salutatorian Joseph Ferry Jr. for his exceptional achievement. Additionally, Matthew Gurlekian was presented with the Rudy Trujillo Award for Superior Academic Effort.

St. Francis Certificates of Distinction were awarded to graduates in the following categories: Computer Science – Matteo Perona; English – Adam Schroeder; Fine Arts – Griffin Cortez; Foreign Language – Nicholas Buenavidez; Mathematics – Matthew Phegley; Media – Robert Alietti; Media – Evan Jernegan; Religion – Christopher Johnson; Science – Alden Hauser; Science – Kyle Lewin; Science – Peter Rassam; Science – Angelo-Joseph Yu; Social Studies – Edmund Tuck; Social Studies – Noah McMahon.

The school faculty also presented Capuchin Medals for Excellence in various subject areas to the following individuals: Art – Erik Wagner; Athletics – Evan Jernegan; Biology – Parker Chang; Chemistry – Joseph Ferry Jr.; Chorus – Joseph Adams; Computer Science – Daniel Gerst; Drumline – Miles Straw; Economics – Adam Schroeder; English – Aryan Noori; Graphic Design – Izak Arce; Human Geography – Oliver Madillian; Kinesiology – Nicholas Simonian; Latin – Adam Schroeder; Mass Media – Nathan Martinez; Mathematics – Justin Chung; Physics – Allister Quizon; Psychology – Kyle Matsuno; Religion – Cole Bender; Spanish – Ethan Monroe; Theater – Janssen Van De Yacht; US Government – Blake Rivera; US History – Cobhan Kale; World History – Joseph Ferry Jr.

Community service awards were presented to the following individuals: Robert Alietti (Pro Deo et Patria for Leadership); Reese Cuevas (Pro Deo et Ecclesia for Leadership); Alexander Finch (Fred Purner Humanitarian Award); Michael Lund (Roger Barkley Award for Outstanding Character); Kyle Oyama and Luke Sugiyama (Archdiocesan Christian Service Award); Connor Macho (Peter Brang Medal for Good Citizenship); James Galang (Franciscan Spirit and Life Award). In addition, Mrs. Allison Davitt and Mrs. Gigi Quizon were honored for their service to St. Francis with the St. Clare of Assisi Award. Dr. James Eshom was also recognized for his service to the school as this year’s recipients of the St. Francis of Assisi Award.

The first-annual Jim Bonds Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Daniel Peters. The Fr. Lawrence Caruso Memorial College Scholarship was awarded to Izak Arce. The California Wellness Scholarship was awarded to Kyle Lewin. Fifty-eight graduates received the special St. Francis High School Honors Diploma, an award given for Christian service, high academic achievement, and taking at least one Advanced Placement course during their senior year at the school. Fifty-seven of the graduating seniors were recognized as California Scholarship Federation Sealbearers. The California Scholarship Federation Sealbearer Scholarship was presented to Justin Chung, Alden Hauser, and Kyle Oyama.

Joseph Adams, Zachary Bechthold, Parker Chang, Joseph Ferry Jr., Charles Lahey, and Miles Straw were recognized as National Merit Program Commended Students. Seventy-nine students graduated as members of the National Honor Society and twelve graduated as Mu Alpha Theta members. The National Honor Society Certificate of Merit was awarded to Joseph Adams, Nicholas Buenavidez, Kyle Matsuno, Nicholas Simonian, and Edmund Tuck. The National Honor Society of Sports Medicine graduated two members; Marcell Camacho and Nicholas Simonian.

The National African American Recognition Scholar was awarded to Ryan Ramos, Joseph Adams, Kyle Oyama, Ryan Ramos, and Edmund Tuck were recognized as National Hispanic Recognition Scholars. Eleven graduates were recognized as members of the National English Honor Society. Thirty-three graduates were recognized as members of Sociedad Honoraria Hispanica.

At the time of graduation, students from St. Francis High School’s graduating Class of 2021 have received 393 scholarships, awards, and/or grants to colleges and universities throughout the United States. These scholarships and awards equate to a total amount of $22,324,266 offered towards the recipients’ educational costs.

St. Francis would like to congratulate all 178 graduates and wish them success and happiness as they journey onward toward lives of purpose marked by service to others. Below are the names of the St. Francis graduates from the Class of 2021:

St. Francis High School, 200 Foothill Blvd., La Cañada, (818) 790-0325 or visit www.sfhs.net.





Pasadena Now has been published daily since April, 2004 and is among the very oldest continously operated community news websites in the U.S.

Pasadena Now strives to publish a full spectrum of news and information articles in service to the entire community. The publication will remain free to readers and will not erect paywalls.

Pasadena Now strives to provide factual, unbiased reporting. Our opinion section is open to all.