Flintridge Prep’s Class of 2020 Senior Award Recipients Announced

As Flintridge Preparatory School (FPS) continue to celebrate its Class of 2020, the Senior Awards were announced recently in an email to the graduates and their parents.

Each year, Prep faculty select students to receive the Senior Awards, which recognize their scholarly, artistic, and athletic accomplishments, as well as their leadership and mentorship.

Assistant Head for Student Life Vanessa Walker-Oakes, Assistant Head for Academic Life Sarah Cooper, Associate Dean for Student Support Midge Kimble, and Head Emeritus Peter Bachmann wrote to the entire class and honored their continued resiliency as a group and as individuals.

“While this spring presented unprecedented challenges, the Class of 2020 finished their time at Prep with finesse, resilience, and determination, inspiring younger students, parents, faculty, and staff with your leadership,” the administrators wrote in the email.

The awards typically are read at the Commencement ceremony, with speeches given by the Founders Trophy and Benton Memorial recipients. With this year’s event being virtual, the administration hoped to hold an in-person ceremony later in the summer to honor the graduates if conditions and guidelines allowed for larger gatherings. “We had hoped to recognize you all, collectively and as individuals, at a celebration this summer. As events are proceeding, however, it becomes hard to imagine that an in-person gathering will occur before you are all on to the next stage of your lives,” they said.

The administration lauded the generosity and leadership of graduates who were in Student Senate, SCAC, ACL, FLINT, and Club Council, as well as peer counselors, senior leaders, 8th grade buddies, and club presidents, who collectively supported our community and contributed to student life. The senior award recipients are listed below.

Flintridge Preparatory School is proud of each of the graduates in the Class of 2020!

Senior Award Recipients

Award                                                         Recipient

DAR Good Citizenship Award – Ben Baraga
Scholarship and Service Award – Ben Baraga and Carrie Luk
Parents Association and Fathers Club Scholarship ($1,000.00) – Germaine Harvey and Sylvie Shure
The Class of 2020 Tom Fry Memorial Award ($500.00) – Kristofer Chang
Senior Athletes of the Year – Kaitlyn Chen and Ben Grable
NCTE Nominee – Maggie Cole
English Department Award – Noelle Tamura
World Languages Department Award – Spanish – Tess Robertson-Neel
World Languages Department Award – French – Jeffrey Pendo
John W. Neupauer Award in Latin – Renee Ventresca
History Department Award – Jason Kreinberg
Science Department Award – Grady Morrissey
Mathematics Department Award – Computer Science – Patrick Hastings
Mathematics Department Award – Alex Bouquet
Visual Arts Department Award – Mia Bella Chavez
Performing Arts Department Award – Dance – Julia Boberg
Performing Arts Department Award – Drama – Ryan Waldheim
Performing Arts Department Award – Vocal Music – Barnett Liu
Performing Arts Department Award – Instrumental Music – Carrie Luk
Performing Arts Department Award – Lilly Fox

Cum Laude Society Inductees:
Ben Baraga, Natalie Bax, Alec Bernardi, Ani Bernardi, Alex Bouquet, Violet Bretz, Pierre Cativiela, Kristofer Chang, Maya Khurana, Nick Klatsky, Jason Kreinberg, Audrey Laun, Carrie Luk, Charlie McCormick, Grady Morrissey, Tess Robertson-Neel, Reagan Schmidt, Sylvie Shure, Simon Siskel, and Derek Tran

FLINT Student Leadership Award – David Egan
Benton Memorial Award – Charlie McCormick
Founders Trophy – Maya Khurana


Flintridge Preparatory School, 4543 Crown Ave., La Cañada Flintridge, (818) 790-1178 or visit www.flintridgeprep.org.








blog comments powered by Disqus

Pasadena Now has been published daily since April, 2004 and is among the very oldest continously operated community news websites in the U.S.

Pasadena Now strives to publish a full spectrum of news and information articles in service to the entire community. The publication will remain free to readers and will not erect paywalls.

Pasadena Now strives to provide factual, unbiased reporting. Our opinion section is open to all.