Maranatha High School’s Student Awards Showcase

Bryce Morton, Darren Gee, Brett Richey, Helio Higley, Jorge Castello, Matthew Hall, Hannah Rae Finchamp, Ebony Martin, Dante Johnson
Jonathan Rinkus , Rena Maharaj, Aimee Niu, Ingrid Rekedal, Daniel Hsieh

Before Easter Break, a number of students were honored for academic and athletic achievements at Maranatha High School’s Annual Student Awards Showcase. Mr. Ho, the Senior College & Guidance Counselor said, “The Student Showcase was an amazing event that celebrated the achievements of our hard-working students. It was great to see so many students being honored for their efforts.” Maranatha celebrated with the students listed below, honored in specific areas.

Highest GPA

Freshman Class: 
Tied for 2nd – Kaili Chiu, Candice Mallari, Jennifer Rokus, Hannah Silk, Evelyn Thoen – 4.57
1st – Joshua David – 4.78

Sophomore Class: 
Tied for 3rd – Mandy Moore, Erin Songwang, Audrey Vu – 4.56
2nd – Rohini Vyas – 4.57
1st – Azhia Harris – 4.71

Junior Class
: 3rd – Daniel Minassian – 4.62 
Tied for 1st – Joe Laski and Devin Robledo – 4.64

Senior Class
: 3rd– Darren Gee – 4.68
2nd– Calvin Yao – 4.71
1st – Elisabeth Gilmore –4.73

Shehan Wijesinghe, Claire Lee, Lindsey VandeWege, Emily Yan, Crystal Yeap, Christine Crosby, Noah Daniels, Ingrid Rekedal, Ryan Fleming

Maranatha Awards of Excellence

Excellence in English – Kris Ruonala-Perez; 
Excellence in English – Christian Maljian
; Excellence in English – Eliza Lo; 
Excellence in Writing – Brett Richey

Speech and Debate: 
Inspirational Award – Nicholas Craft; Orator of the Year- Kendall Holliman; Debater of the Year – Shehan Wijesinghe

Modern Languages: 
Fleur de Lis Award – Audrey Vu; 
The Savviest Signer – Alexandra Krueger; 
Premio a excelencia en Español 3 – Jimmy Chottianchai
; Premio a excelencia en Honores Español 3 – Daniel Minassian

Excellence in Mathematics – Nathan Lee; 
Excellence in Mathematics – Janette Ok; 
Excellence in Mathematics – Calvin Yao

Levi Frakes, Ryan Lam, Daijuan Hannah, Tiffany O'Rourke, Dr. Michelle Purghart

Brilliant Biologist Award – Daniel Minassian; 
Clever Chemist Award – Calvin Yao; 
Phenomenal Physicist Award – Devin Robledo
; Kickin’ Kinesiologist Award – Tanner Richter

Social Science: 
Sojourner Truth Award – Audrey Vu
; Jane Addams Award – Alexandra Krueger; 
Excellence in AP U.S. History – Jenay Yuen; 
Excellence in AP U.S. History – Julia Baklayan

Budding Theologian Award – Aimee Niu; 
John 17 Award – Ingrid Rekedal
; Theologian of the Year – Daniel Hsieh
; Service Award – Rena Maharaj; 
Service Award – Jonathan Rinkus

Visual/Performing Arts: 
Outstanding Contributions to MHS Music – Christine Crosby; 
Excellence in Music – Noah Daniels; 
Outstanding Contributions to MHS Musical Theater/Dance – Ingrid Rekedal; Excellence in Dance – Crystal Yeap; 
Master Artist Award – Emily Yan
; Excellence in Photography and Design – Lindsey Vande Wege; 
Most Improved Instrumentalist – Ryan Fleming; 
Most Valuable Member Orchestra – Claire Lee; 
Instrumentalist of the Year – Shehan Wijesinghe

Physical Education: 
Physical Education Student of the Year – Daijuan Hannah
; Beginning Weight Training Student of the Year – Ryan Lam
; Advanced Weight Training Student of the Year – Levi Frakes

Athletics Awards

Female Senior Athlete of the Year – Hannah Rae Finchamp; 
Male Senior Athlete of the Year – Matthew Hall
; Female Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Brett Richey; 
Male Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Darren Gee; 
Minuteman Award – Jorge Castello, Helio Higley, and Ebony Martin; 
Iron Man Award – Dante Johnson, Bryce Morton, and Tanner Richter

Military Academy Recognition

Benjamin Hynes for his nominations to both the U.S. Air Force Academy and U.S. Naval Academy

Maranatha High School, 169 S. St. John Avenue, Pasadena, (626) 817-4000 or visit



blog comments powered by Disqus

Pasadena Now has been published daily since April, 2004 and is among the very oldest continously operated community news websites in the U.S.

Pasadena Now strives to publish a full spectrum of news and information articles in service to the entire community. The publication will remain free to readers and will not erect paywalls.

Pasadena Now strives to provide factual, unbiased reporting. Our opinion section is open to all.