Celebrities to Read New, Original Sci-Fi by Area Teens at Vroman’s Bookstore on Sunday 

Last year’s Pasadena High School winner, Gwendolyn Lopez,  will  present this year’s first-place prize
Published on May 21, 2022


Celebrity guests will  gather at Vroman’s Bookstore in Pasadena Sunday to dramatically read the best in original new science fiction writing by  Los Angeles County high school students for “The Tomorrow Prize and The Green Feather Award Celebrity  Readings and Honors.” 

Last year’s first place winner, Gwendolyn Lopez of Pasadena High School, will present this year’s first place prize. 

Other awards presenters include JPL Engineer Bobak Ferdowsi and novelists  Lilliam Rivera and Keenan Norris. The event will open with a performance by theremin player, JPL Engineer and  Star Trek Picard technical consultant, Steve Collins. 

This f4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. event is free to attend with registration and open to the public. Register at: bit.ly/tomorrow-gfa-2022 

Featured celebrity guests include: Rico E. Anderson (The Orville, Criminal Minds), JB Blanc (Arcane, Star Wars  Jedi: Fallen Order), Shayne Eastin (LA by Night, Delusion: Lies Within), Bonnie Gordon (Star Trek Prodigy, The  Quest), Tamara Krinsky (Tomorrow’s World Today, Star Trek: First Contact), Allison Scagliotti (Warehouse 13,  Stitchers), and Marcelo Tubert (Star Trek: The Next Generation, Jane the Virgin). 

“The Tomorrow Prize and The Green Feather Award inspire and motivate high school students of diverse backgrounds and from every region of Los Angeles County to test the limits of their imaginations and explore the issues they care about through science fiction writing,” says Omega Sci-Fi Awards Director Rosalind Helfand. 

The Tomorrow Prize is an opportunity for students to shine as the thinkers of the future! Teen writers are encouraged to explore scientific, social, technological, environmental, moral and philosophical themes and issues in their writing and always, at the core, to master the art of great storytelling. 

The show will feature readings of seven compelling short stories by students, including two eco-themed sci-fi “The  Green Feather Award” winning stories. The writers weave themes of social and environmental justice into their stories and envision futures where the world looks very different than it does today. The finalists include Angel Bran (“House on Sand”), Amy Cervantes (“They’re Coming”), Tais Cortez (“Genetic Slumber”), Madison Kay  (“Backstitching”), Luna Prieto (“Mechanical Planet”) plus The Green Feather Award winners Jonathan Kim (“The  Seagulls Save Culver City”) and Jennifer Wu (“Eden”).  

Following the readings, the students will be honored and the three top prize winners announced.  

The Tomorrow Prize and The Green Feather Award are programs of the Omega Sci-Fi Awards, which were founded in 2014 by Sci-Fest L.A. The Omega Sci-Fi Awards are now a program of the nonprofit Light Bringer Project of  Pasadena. Major sponsors include The Roddenberry Foundation and vfxNova. L.A. Parent Magazine publishes the  first place winning story, and Nature Nexus Institute co-presents The Green Feather Award. 

For more, click here.


Make a Comment

  • (not be published)